Chocolate Peanut Butter “Wednesday Cupcake”

Well here it is folks:

This week’s “Wednesday Cupcake” Recipe

This Cupcake was a special request from a co-worker who has a soft spot for all things peanut butter/chocolate.

The very first “Wednesday Cupcake” was really just a fluke, but when that one (lemon curd filled butter milk cupcake) went over so well, and I had such a blast making them, I figured “why not make this a weekly thing?” So that became the plan…

I quickly realized that this could be both delightful and a bit of an undertaking… Sure it’s only ONE cupcake a week, but Florian Bellanger I am NOT.  This means that once one cupcake is successfully baked, filled, decorated, delivered to work, and consumed, it immediately becomes time to start considering next week’s project.

This week I felt just a tiny bit anxious because the first week I printed and followed a recipe almost as written.  This time as many chocolate cupcakes recipes as I read (and there were lots) I couldn’t find one that said “THIS IS THE END ALL BE ALL OF CHOCOLATE CUPCAKES, THERE’S NO REASON TO KEEP LOOKING, THIS ONE IS AWESOME IN EVERY WAY.”  But I figured… Surely such a thing has to exist, no? And if it doesn’t, then… if I take the few recipes that I decided I liked and crammed them all into an excel spread sheet, divided the total amount of each ingredient by the number of  recipes I was using, and took the averages (since baking is all about science anyway)….. What’s the worst that could happen?

So I had to try

I took these four recipes:

http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/double-dark-chocolate-cupcakes-with-peanut-butter-filling

http://peachwriter.wordpress.com/2008/05/17/the-best-chocolate-cupcake-recipe/

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/chocolate-cupcakes-and-peanut-butter-icing-recipe/index.html

http://cakeonthebrain.blogspot.com/2009/07/best-chocolate-cupcakes-ever-chocolate.html

and did exactly that: I put the ingredients into an excel spread sheet and divided everything by four. A couple of the recipes included (or omitted) ingredients that others did not.  This is where the law of averages did not factor in quite the same… Simply put… I winged it!

This is what I came up with:

13 Tbs Unsalted Butter

1  1/4 C. Granulated White Sugar

1/4 C. Light Brown Sugar (Packed)

2 Ounces (by weight) Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

2 Lg Eggs (Room Temperature)

1  1/2 tsp. (REAL) Vanilla Extract

1 C. Buttermilk (Room Temperature)

1/2 C. Sour Cream (Room Temperature)

3 Tbs Brewed (STRONG) Coffee

1  2/3 AP Flour

3/4 C. & 2 Tbs Cocoa Powder (I used dark unsweetened)

1 tsp. Baking Soda

1/2 tsp. Baking Powder

3/8 tsp. Salt (I used a sea salt grinder and just twisted it a couple times)

At this point it really became a matter of following the Food Network recipe directions with a couple modifications.

After I “added the eggs one at a time” I turned the stand mixer off and focused on the chocolate chips for a minute.  I took a heat proof bowl and placed it on top of a pot over barely simmering water and diligently stirred the chips around until they started to melt.  At this point I added a bit of buttermilk one Tbs at a time so that the chocolate doesn’t seize and was completely smooth and melted.  I pulled this off the heat and poured it into the butter/sugar/egg mixture, and turned the mixer back on to get the chocolate completely incorporated into the mixture.

From here on out I followed the directions exactly (with the addition of the baking powder, and the extra Tbs of Coffee)

After I “folded the batter with a rubber spatula to be sure it was completely blended” I bumped the blender up to high (or close to it) and gave the batter another quick (less than one minute) whirl, just for good measure.

I filled the cupcake liners a little more than 3/4 of the way full, baked at 350 for 22.5(ish) minutes, this made AT LEAST 18 good size cupcakes that popped over the top and looked all crackly and made my entire house smell AMAZING!

While these were baking I started working on the filling.  For this I adapted the recipe used over at YumSugar… With my own spin of course!

4 ounces of cream cheese
1 cup creamy peanut butter (I used Reese’s brand b/c it’s thinner than others)
1  1/2 C. sifted powdered sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
Heavy Cream

I wanted to be able to pipe the filling into the center of the cupcake so after thoroughly combining the cream cheese, peanut butter, powdered sugar, and vanilla in the stand mixer, I put it on med-low and just started drizzling in the heavy cream until it was smooth and a consistency that I thought would be “pipe-able.” Guessing; I would say it was probably roughly 3 or 4 Tbs. My suggestion is just to pour (SLOWLY) until it looks right.  You’ll know.

Once the Cupcakes came out, were cooled and filled (I sacrificed one by slicing it in half to check the filling/cake ratio) it was time to focus on the “Swiss Meringue Buttercream” from Cake On the Brain. I can only assume this is a pretty basic buttercream recipe, but having never made one before… this was definitely an undertaking. For this you will need:

5 large egg whites

1 C. plus 2 Tbs sugar

pinch of salt (again a swirl or two of my grinder)

1 pound (4 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into tablespoons, room temperature

1  1/2 Tbs pure vanilla extract

I would be lying if I said it was a quick painless process, but the directions at Cake On the Brain are spot on.  IF (as happened to me) your first (or subsequent) batch(es) break check out this handy link with some suggestions on saving it.  If all goes well (or you successfully resuscitate an almost disaster this is what it should look like:

Light and fluffy and WAY too delicious to not have a purpose. So I piped it with a pretty tip on to the cupcakes. There was no sort of professional pattern, I just made sure that it was covered by a luscious mound of butter cream.

For cuteness reasons, and so that you had an idea of the theme of the cupcake, I placed a mini Reese’s egg on the top of the butter cream and called it good.

I thought the first batch of cupcakes went fast last week, but this was nothing in comparison.  It’s a very good thing that there were twice as many to go around because they surely did not last long! There’s just something about chocolate and peanut together in the same food vehicle that makes people happy.

Hopefully this makes you as happy as it made my co-workers (and as happy as the butter cream made me.)

~ by aqua0317 on 2 March, 2012.

2 Responses to “Chocolate Peanut Butter “Wednesday Cupcake””

  1. […] (Recipe to Follow) […]

  2. […] then used the same Butter Cream Frosting recipe that I used for the Chocolate Cupcakes a couple of weeks ago from Cake On The […]

Leave a Reply

 
